You are here

Apr 16th

Printer-friendly versionPDF version


The annual closed tournament produced the expected level of high play. The majority of the top players were in attendance and it was a previous champion, Adam Laws, Godalming,who took his fourth Open Singles title. In the final he got the better of Andy Mudie, Merrow, in a five set encounter.  In the semi-final Laws had beaten last season’s champion Chris Bush, Burymead, with the third set being pivotal, Laws winning it 20-18. Mudie’s semi-final opponent had been Alex Forshaw from Godalming. The Open Doubles was won by Bush and his team-mate Richard Tanner. They got the better of Laws and Pavlina Polokova. The Ladies Singles was won by Sarah Horsnell who beat Fei Fei Pei in the final, both players from Godalming. The Ladies Doubles was won by Carole Ingram, Merrow, and Sandy Simpson, Ash. They beat Horsnell and Pei in the final. The final main event, the Mixed Doubles, was won by Robin Honey and Pei against Rory Scott and Horsnell. All four finalists from Godalming.

In the Hard Bat final Bush beat Tanner and the Veteran’s final was won by Matt Pernet, Burymead, beating John Robinson, Merrow, in the final. Robinson did win the Masters Singles proving too strong for Dave Phelps, Broadmoor. The Veteran’s Doubles was picked up by Micky Lang, Merrow, and Phil Snelson, Burymead beating Brian Hartles, Woking LTC, and Phelps in the final. The Junior title was won by Ben Fereday of Ash beating Jacob Chew, Woking LTC, in the final.

All the results will be on the website and all winners/runners up are reminded that the Presentation Evening will be held on Friday June 7th.

Meanwhile in the Premier Division Burymead B secured the title again. A 7-3 win over Godalming B eased them across the finishing line. The squad of Matt Pernet, Chris Bush, Richard Tanner and Michael Hill have proved to be head and shoulders above the rest of the division.

In the First Division Challoner B have the title after a 9-1 success over Bramley A. Maria Taylor-Woodward, Crispian Knight and Steve Collins have thoroughly deserved their success with a consistent season. The two teams contesting second spot met with Godalming D beating Ash A 7-3. Matt Craig was undefeated for Godalming with Yawei Wang bagging a pair as did Rod Kay for Ash.

In the Second Division Bramley C now have the title after disposing of second-placed Merrow E 8-2. Congratulations to Geoff Nevitt, Kerry East and Kim Farminer. At the other end of the table the relegation of Aftermath D has been confirmed.

The Third Division has been won by Godalming G who showed their class with a whitewash of Cody B. James Wyncoll, Paul Rumble and Hugh McKee fully deserving the success after dominating the division.