You are here

January 20th

Printer-friendly versionPDF version
The last perfect record has gone with Ash A winning their re-arranged match against Burymead C in the First Division. Ash edged home 6-4 built on the maximum achieved by Terry Osborne. Joel Clancy won twice for Burymead. Aftermath A completed their first half fixtures with a convincing, 9-1, defeat of Woking LTC A. Albert Cheung and Simon Turner were unbeaten against just a two-man opposition. Aftermath B also benefited from a two-man Woking team with Frank Roberts unbeaten in a 7-3 victory.
Quite a few matches completed in the Premier Division with the top two Burymead A and B clashing. The B team extended their lead with a 7-3 success with Richard Tanner unbeaten and Matt Pernet and Chris Bush notching duos. College Hill A completed a very satisfying first half to the season with a 9-1 mauling of Challoner B. Phil Harrison and Jorge Dominguez proved unbeateable with Andy Clegg only losing out to Maria Taylor-Woodward. Broadmoor have caught up most of their fixtures with victories over Godalming A, 6-4, and Merrow D, 7-3, whilst they shared the spoils with Merrow C.  Daniel Moses was unbeaten in his two matches whilst Ian Cole managed seven out of nine. Mark Handcock also bagged a full house in his only appearance.
In the Second Division Allianz eased past Aftermath C, 6-4, and trounced Burymead D 9-1. Both Manoj Shah and Clayton Green recorded five wins out of six. In his only appearance Steve Simnett picked up a brace against Burymead D whilst Martin Strutt grabbed a couple for Aftermath C in their defeat. In their other outstanding match Burymead D got the better of a two-man Godalming E outfit. Jack Harrington was unbeaten for Burymead whilst Jason Minoo won two for the relegation strugglers.
In the Third Division Godalming F showed their class with an 8-2 thrashing of Cranleigh A. Danny McGranaghan and Gordon Grover both notched trios. Ash C got the better of Ash D, 6-4 with the D team’s Jackie Rice the best player on the night with a full house. Les Knight and Tony Harrison won twice apiece for the C team. Abinger pushed Bramley E further towards relegation with a 9-1 win. Keith Sutton and Brendan Bayley each won three times with Jim Faulkner getting two wins.
In the Fourth Division Godalming H defeated their K team 7-3 but none of the victorious team, Shula Laws, David Livingstone and Helen Ross could better Rohan Butt. The Godalming L team completed their fixtures with an emphatic 9-1 win over Bramley F. Ben tahouri and Juri Artamanov won all their matches with Alan Lewell only losing out to Pam Wells.
 As can be seen above the Woking LTC A team are experiencing difficulties and players are needed. In the meantime Brian Hartles has taken over as secretary and he is also acting as captain of the A team. His details can be obtained from the league’s website.