You are here

December 6th

Printer-friendly versionPDF version
The Guildford League will be represented at next year’s Olympics, not from the playing side but from the umpire’s chair. Mick Strode who has been playing in both the Guildford and Aldershot leagues for many years will be just one of four British umpires officiating at the event which will be held at the Excel Arena from 28th July until 8th August.
Meanwhile Mick’s team, Cody B, swept to the top of the Fourth Division after whitewashing Bramley F. On this occasion Cody was represented by Stuart Stone, Jock Docherty and Ken Thompson, Godalming L eased past Woking LTC D 6-4. Malcolm Hollett was unbeaten for Woking with Alan Lewell and Juri Artamonov notching duos. Godalming M got the better of their J side with both George Helling and Ben Tahouri unbeaten.
In the Second Division Challoner notched up their first win of the season 8-2 with both Martin Rozario and Tom Taylor-Woodward bagging maximums.
In the Third Division Cranleigh A suffered their first defeat 6-4 to Ash D. Jackie Rice won all her three including an epic against Mark Lockyer who picked up a pair as did David Mackinnon for Ash. At the other end of the table Godalming G recorded a very welcome win, 7-3, against Abinger. Brendan Bayley won all his singles for Abinger with James Wyncoll, Peter Cousins and Hugh McKee all winning twice for Godalming.
In the First Division Godalming C bounced back from the defeat against Burymead C with a whitewash of College Hill B. Alan Hoyle, Tony Harrild and Feifei Pei comprised the winning team. Bramley A confirmed their top half of the table credentials with a 7-3 defeat of Aftermath A. Nick Gould won all his singles with Tony Morse and Geoff Nevitt each winning twice.
Godalming F secured their place in the semi-finals of the Last Two Cup with a 6-3 win over Ash C. Gordon Grover was unbeaten for Godalming with Danny McGranaghan winning twice as did Ash’s Sandy Simpson.
The quarter-finals of the Handicap Cup have been completed with Premier Division team, Broadmoor, winning a close encounter with Cranleigh B, 5-4. Most starts were 34 for Cranleigh but that did not stop Clive Banham and John Millward winning twice for Broadmoor which was matches with two wins apiece for Chris Ray and John Davies. Cody B overcame Merrow E 5-3. Norrie Short and Mick Strode won twice for Cody as Carole Ingram for Merrow. Bramley E beat Ash C 6-3 with no player unbeaten. Gary Nicholson, Linda Makepeace and Bob Holmden all won twice for Bramley as did Ash’s Margaret Thornton. Merrow G completed the quarter-final line-up with a 5-2 success over Bramley B. Bramley had been two up but a full house from David Lush proved decisive. The quarter-finals due to be played over the winter break are Cody B v Broadmoor, Bramley E v Merrow G, Ash A v Cody A and Allianz v Ash B.